Florida Motorized Bicycle Laws

License Required & Registration Required

  1. Anton
    A motorized bicycle must be registered in Florida and you'll also need a drivers license to operate it on public roads.

    Motorized bicycles fall under the classification of a moped. A moped is defined as a vehicle that has:
    • A seat for the rider
    • Pedals that allow you to propel the vehicle
    • 3 wheels or less
    • A motor of 2 brake horsepower or less
    • A maximum speed of 30mph on level ground
    • An automatic transmission that does not require the rider to manually change gears
    • Displacement of 50 cc or less (for internal combustion engines)

    You must have a valid Class E drivers license and be at least 16 years old to ride a motorized bicycle in Florida.


    A motorized bicycle needs to be registered for $5 a year in Florida. You will be issued license plates by your local county tax collector office. If you're under 21 years of age your registration plates will indicate this by being of different color and design.


    Motorized bicycle riders are no longer required to have Personal Injury Protection Insurance.

    Other Motorized Bicycle Requirements

    • Riding a motorized bicycle on the footpath is illegal
    • Passengers under 16 years old must wear a helmet