According to Michigan law a motorized bicycle is considered a moped. A moped is defines as a vehicle which:
- Has an engine of 100cc or less
- Does not go faster than 30mph on flat ground
- Has an automatic transmission
To ride a motorized bicycle in Michigan you must have a valid drivers license. If you are 15 years of age you can apply for a moped license.
A motorized bicycle must be registered in Michigan if you want to ride it on public roads. It does not need to be titled.
- Registration costs $15 and is valid for 3 years. You must affix a registration decal on the back of your motorized bicycle.
- If you are under 19 years old you will need to wear a helmet while riding a motorized bicycle.
- Motorized bicycle riders can ride in a traffic lane but must stay as close as possible to the curb.