South Carolina Motorized Bicycle Laws

License Required & Registration Required as of 2-1-2017

  1. Anton
    According to South Carolina state law, a motorized bicycle is classified as a moped. The definition of a moped is:
    • A cycle with pedals to permit propulsion by human power or without pedals and with a motor of not more that 50ccs or 2bhp.
    • Cannot go over 30mph on level ground.
    • Operated by an automatic transmission without clutching or shifting after the drive system is engaged.
    License

    To operate a motorized bicycle in South Carolina you need a valid drivers license. If you are at least 14 years old you can apply for a moped permit.

    Registration

    As of February 1st 2017, motorized bicycles will have to be registered to ride them on public roads in South Carolina.