2 Stroke or 4 stroke. Can't make up my mind.

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by M_Saint, Nov 24, 2008.

1. M_Saint

M_Saint New Member

I live in Pa so I need to stay under the 50cc limit so I can get my bike titled as a moped. I really like 4 strokes but I do know that a 2 stroke of the same cc will always make a little more horse power. My intent is to use the bike for my 30 mile round trip to work and back 5 days a week in the warmer months.

I am new to the motor biking thing and need some advice as I am not real knowledgeable pertaining to the performance of either. Nor on the reliability factors.

This is the 4 stroke kit I have been looking at http://www.bicycle-engines.com/49cc-complete-powered-engine-p-156.html I would run it with the heavy duty axle and hub brake they offer.

As for which 2 stroke. I have been reading and reading and still have not come up with one that stands out more than the others. Are the bicycle-engines.com 2 strokes any good or are everyones engines being sold more or less the same. Also is the CC marked on the 2 stroke engines somewhere or only on the receipt :) ?

There is also the option with a 2 stroke to do a horse power upgrade once I have the bike titled so that is attractive to me.

I have already ordered a bike from my local dealer and purchased a set of welded heavy duty Monarch forks. Now all I need to do is figure out power and drive train. Help doing this would be much appreciated.

2. Mountainman

Mountainman Active Member

good morning and welcome to you

if you go into the search engine here on site
    you should be able to find a lot of information
    regarding --- 2-stroke or 4-stroke

for a four stroke ---- I like the Robin and Honda
    2-stroke ----------- Mit
    if you are looking for true quality -- these fit the bill...

have fun as you build that THING and ride that THING
  3. M_Saint

M_Saint New Member

I've searched here and read alot but still haven't come to a decision.
  4. Mountainman