2002 whizzer clutch / belt Newbee question

Sgt. B

Local time
1:53 PM
I am brand new to the Whizzer world and must admit, I have no previous mechanical experience, but I want to learn! When I am stopped the motor stalls. I took of the clutch guard and found that when the clutch engaged the belt is still making contact and attempts to spin, which then causes the motor to stall. Am I correct think that the front belt / should completely release and not spin while the clutch lever is compressed? I am guessing that the belt is just to tightly adjusted or that the clutch cable is not compressing or releasing enough tension. Any input would be appreciated.:rolleyes:

Hi Sgt. B,

Seems everyday someone contacts me concerning belt adjustment on a Whizzer. It is possible to make the belts work 100%. Many offer advice on belt adjustment, however I totally disagree with most.

In order to make the belts work correctly on a new edition Whizzer, a trip into the past is helpful. The AMERICAN vintage Whizzer engineers had a good understanding about belts & clutches, whereas the Taiwan builder didn't have a clue. The AX series belt was designed to work with small pulleys, and the notches allowed the belt to bend without "bunching" up the center "V" section of the belt, and causing the belt to become hot and "sticky". Another important feature was an AX belt takes a more "relaxed" position than the "cheap" FHP belt supplied on the new edition Whizzers. In other words the 4L series belt trys to maintain a circle, whereas the AX series returns to a relaxed oval pattern.

Next we need to visit belt length, pulley size, and the length of the Taiwan clutch arm. They managed to make the arm "in-between" sizes. Too long for an AX 26 belt and too short for an AX 27 [29"]. Of course the length is also wrong with the stock FHP 4L290 [29"] belt. When using the factory supplied belt the bottom of the belt return path hits the front bottom belt guard post.