2200W Electric conversion

nedfunnell

Local time
1:47 AM
I did the first part of my conversion today, mounting the motor. I'm doing this as simply as I can because I live in an apartment for the summer and hardly have any tools to work with. By day I am a welding engineering intern, but at home all I've got is a cordless drill, a dremel, and hand tools. We'll see how it goes. This is a 36v motor, but I will be running the first generation of this bike at 24v so that it will be tamer and because that fits the batteries I have. (My third battery is weak..er). I'll keep you posted.

bike1.jpg

Do you have any info on this motor,motor type,no load rpm, & max current ? What is the reduction to the chainwheel.If you run a 36V motor at 24 V the efficiency can take a quite a beating (depends on motor type)

I don't know the model of the motor, I got it on ebay as a mystery motor, and the brand on nameplate was scratched off. Nonetheless, it does 2500 RPM at 36v. The ratio to the chainwheel is 4.2:1, which should give me 31mph max is lowest gear at 24v. Not sure on the current draw, but the controller I have that I will be using when I eventually step up to 36v will take 225A, and is current limited to that. The rated power is 3 HP (~2200W), which at stock voltage would be 62A. The stall current will be higher, naturally.

Last edited:
I'm the first to admit i know little about e-bikes,but it will be interesting to see your final setup(with batteries/controller,etc).
Wonder how it'll perform....weight would have to be an issue.