300 LB Rider want an engine that can be removed easily HELP.

Discussion in 'Friction Drive' started by Fatwebbie, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Fatwebbie

Fatwebbie New Member

I need help. I am new to all of this and I dont totally understand it so I need lots of help.
    1. I travel A LOT for work via a car. I want an engine that I can easily take off and on so my bike on the back of my car just looks like any other bike. Then when I want to ride it or need to, should I break down out of cell range I can grab it out if the trunk and throw it on.
    2. I am 300 lbs and I want something that will push my fat butt up hills should I need it too.
    3. I would prefer it to be a quiet as I can get.
    So what should I do. I think the friction is the way to go from what I see it MIGHT be the easiest to do a quick disconect with as well as if I need to change it to another bike for any reason I could do that easier too. What do you all suggest.

2. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

If requirements specifically necessitate a quick disconnect method, then friction drive is the only realistic option, but you'll still need to mess around disconnecting the throttle cable and spring loaded mechanism.
  3. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

Reducing exhaust noise is a fairly simple process but an electric system would be a better option if (lack of) noise is of prime importance.
  4. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

Hauling heavy loads up steep hills is my specialty. I've got a ton of information on that subject.
  5. BigBlue

BigBlue Active Member

Now if money isn't a problem, look into the Shuttle Buddy. I've don't own one and haven't heard of anyone owning one, so you're on your own :

Good Luck,

AKA: BigBlue
  6. Fabian

Fabian Well-Known Member

The Shuttle Buddy looks like a neat little system.
  7. wheelbender6

wheelbender6 Well-Known Member