49cc Mini moto engine build so far

Discussion in 'Photos & Bicycle Builds' started by Waincat, Sep 18, 2013.

1. Waincat

Waincat New Member

Hello, this is my first build, it is a bit of a mess at the moment and obviously has some issues but I have high hopes for it's completion! Links to photos below as I'm having trouble with uploading to this site

http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5517/9797492404_4df4d6612d_o.jpg

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3687/9797505766_a36bcb7dee_o.jpg

Schwalbe big apple tyres
    Big Dutch made handlebars
    The seat extension is a bar end from a mountain bike
    Brooks sofa saddle
    Cheap Chinese 49cc mini moto engine (huasheng?)
    Automatic gearbox
    Gokart exhaust, modified and fitted with 22mm brass pressure fitting (I actually quite like the way it looks, sort of steampunk)
    43 tooth rear sprocket bolted on with galvanized steel, plywood and motorcycle innertube
    Basic mini moto petrol tank, to be replaced with by a fancy board track style tank when I have the tools

As you can probably see from the photos, I have had a few problems in my test runs!
    The engine shakes way too much on the mounting and is shaking everything to bits.

The mounting is made from 1mm galvanized steel which I think is too thin at the moment. I have decided to either add another mounting bracket or two, or abandon it until I can make some thick stainless steel tabs and weld them onto the frame.

As you can see the pull start is dangling because the recoil has popped out for the sixth time! Not sure what I can do to resolve this other than buy a new one unless anyone has a suggestion for fixing it?

Also, I think there may an issue between the rear sprocket and the gear ratios in the gear box because I don't seem to be getting as much power as I should. Maybe the automatic gears are not changing because there isn't enough pull due to the high number of teeth on the rear sprocket?

49ccmotorbicycle1.jpg

Last edited: Sep 18, 2013

2. 5-7HEAVEN