79cc Predator Fat Bike - First Build

Hello Everybody!

I've wanted to build a motorized bike for several decades and I am finally able to get started. I know that I will have lots of questions since this is my first time building one. I hope that you guys can save a bunch of headache and hassle.

About my ride... it's a 29" steel-framed fat bike cruiser from AZ Beach Bikes. It has a 3-speed hub shifter and disk brakes. I have the SBP shift kit / jackshaft which came with a very sturdy motor mount. I plan to use the Harbor Freight 79cc Predator motor. Still need to figure out which belt transmission to use. Lot's of building and parts still needed.

Here's an image of what I have in mind (but with the motor facing the right way, lol)...

Predator-29er-79cc-SM.jpg

FIRST ISSUE!

Bottom bracket. I need to have a wider pedal crank spindle so there will be room for the extra sprocket and freewheel. The problem is the case is about 5" wide to start with so the spindle will need to be 8" - 10" long. I'm not able to find such a thing and don't have a very good idea about what I'm looking for exactly. Outboard bearings? Aluminum cups? Threaded? Press fit? Square taper?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :)

Here is a link to a floating smooth spindle available in different lengths.

http://www.bikepro.com/products/bottom_brackets/white.html

This may not match your bottom bracket or pedal crank arms. I did bracket work like that in Jr High back in 1969. From that ancient experience I could remind that as the pedals go further out, they are more likely to bottom out in a turn and the arms may need to be shorter.

It will likely take longer than you think to get it totally finished. But once completed it won't matter. That should be a very capable build and one that you will truly enjoy.

Thanks Wolfshoes, I did not consider the pedals scraping on turns. Also, the link you gave looks like what I might need except the spindle is still way too short.