Additional Mounting and Vibration Reduction Tips - Please Provide Feedback THX

bakaneko

Local time
9:09 PM
Hello. I wanted to share some "tips" on how I stabilized and reduced vibrations on my 66cc 2-stroke motorized bike. I think this will help those who cannot use the U mounts or want additional mounts. It seems excessive vibration causes a lot of issues such as low speeds, cannot ride bike above X speeds, bubbles in carb bowl, electrical breakdown, and etc. Note, I am a relative newbie (2 months) and appreciate some criticism or feedback. :rolleyes:

1. Large hose clamps to support mounts - I bought 2 large hose clamps and wrapped them around the two mount areas. I tightened it using a screwdriver and then used a wrench with a screwdriver to apply max tension. The hose clamps are very strong and I feel they will last a long time. I like this tip the best as in case the mounts fail (bolts, nuts); the hose clamps are more than enough to operate the bike. Total cost = $4 (2 for each from Menards) Nice insurance right :helmet:

photo 2.jpg

2. Horizontal bar across upper chain side of engine - I noticed that obviously the engine vibrates more near the top of the engine rather than at the mounts. I didn't like the vibration and how it affects the carburetor so I placed a single non-bendable, high quality metal bar across the top of the engine and mounted the ends to the bike frame. To hide the unsightly bar, I placed the chain guard but a nice piece of metal cover would also do or you could just not hide it. I attached the bar to the bike using hose clamps and high tension from the bar. Additionally, I am not sure if this is entire true, but I think it helps dissapate heat better from the engine due to head transfer to large bar and then attaching metal. Total cost = $5 ($2 for bar $3 for clamps)

photo 1.jpg