Engine Trouble Altitude sensitivity???

Sean Healey

Local time
5:30 PM
Another Newbie here - I just put together my first 2 stroke 48cc bike. It's acting really strange. I live in the White Mountains in AZ, and THINK I have the idle adjustment screw right, but it NEVER seems to idle!!! I have to control the speed and throttle by pushing in the kill switch. THAT ISN'T right.

I took a ride down the hill (neighboring town maybe 3 miles away) to show the ride to my buddy, and we noticed all kinds of condensation on the air filter (too much gas). So I backed out the idle adjustment screw another turn. On the way home, the bike makes it okay on flat ground, but then dies half way up a half mile hill.

I am wondering is it something I did incorrectly, or am I screwed going thru different altitudes? These 2 strokes are pretty basic, so am I gonna have to just search to find a decent 'happy-medium'?

it sould be that your float level is too high which will cause the carb to flood over.
yes, altitude makes a difference when it comes to jetting the carb, but once you get it jetted right, minor changes in altitude shouldn't really affect how it runs.
make sure that you don't have an air leak at the intake - cylinder gasket or where the carb goes onto the intake manifold.
a high, uncontrollable idle can mean you have an air leak.
when it doesn;t want to idle, it can be a sign that it's flooding over.
fuel on the air filter is common on a 2 stroke without reed valves (such as these china engines) because a little fuel is always being spit back out of the carb.
But if your filter is soaked, that would tell me that the carb might be flooding over.

dumb question, but are you sure that your choke isn't stuck closed?
If the choke is stuck closed, this would give you the results that you are describing.
another thing to check is to make sure that the main jet didn;t unscrew itself and is laying in the bottom of the float bowl.
this is common with the nt carbs too.