Another new guy....

Three-Wire

Local time
6:51 PM
...who's bitten by the motored bike bug.

Hello from Kansas! I've been looking longingly at gas bikes for about a year and have finally decided to do something about it. Here's the deal...

I'm an Engineer by trade, an A&P mechanic on the side, and serial tinkerer. I know just enough about bicycles to get my self in trouble, but I'm a pretty quick learner.

I've got two weeks of free evenings coming up and I want to be able to build up a gas bike before the end of the month (ambitious, huh?). Preferably a beach cruiser style...

I'm leaning towards the Grubee 66cc engine kit because they have a coupon out right now. Any reasons why this is a bad idea?

For a frame, I like the Ocean Pacific aluminum cruiser from Wally-World because it's light and it's already got provisions for v-style brakes. I like the Huffy Panama Jack too, but it's pricier and I haven't found one to look at yet...

So, hello everyone! Thanks in advance, any feedback is appreciated, and expect some questions as I get familiar with this forum...

Hey, always good to have new members on the forum looking to learn, and contribute.

Did you do a great deal with bikes before the idea of making a MB?

Hi Schwinn-Locura, thank you for the reply! I've done some basic bike maintenance but nothing much more than that. In fact, I'm still riding the same cheap 26" mountain bike I got for my 13th birthday... Other than tweaking brakes, crank bearings, and shift linkages over the years it's never failed me. Over my adult years I've had several long stretches where that bike was my primary means of transportation, but mostly I ride around my neghborhood in the evenings.