Anyone else had this problem

dougsr.874

Local time
10:21 AM
Several months ago, as a complete novice, I ordered a so called 80cc engine from a place called BiketoMoped.com...after several days of cussing and wondering if I was gonna go mad, I got the engine installed and got it started...I immediately noticed fuel mixture leaking from between the engine case halves underneath the muffler....this problem became increasely worse and the vendor sent me another engine and I paid the freight...the second engine would not start at all...I eventully found that the crankshaft seal behind the coils was leaking so badly that the engine simply would not run...Since then I have found this forum and I have also SEARCHED IN VAIN for an instruction manual showing how to disassemble these engines...So now I have two worthless pieces of junk...I am somewhat mechanically inclined but I need pictures and guidance.....Any comments would be appreciated....

Doug Sr - Wow that is a shame. I hope you keep trying and get one running. If you were close I would give you a hand. This engine is very simple you almost don't need a manual. I will look at this outfit and see what they are selling. I think the one that has the seal pushed out might be the easy one to get running. With your kits did you get a puller in the kit, it is a device that has threads at both ends and a threaded bolt in the middle? It is to take the drive gear off, the sprocket, and the large hub off the secondary shaft. There is a chance that all you will have to do is press the seal back in. You can do this with a deep socket, just tap it in till it is just bellow the surface. The mag rotor will come off easy, just make sure you install it in the same orientation, I mark "outside" before I take it off. Keep us posted. Have fun, Dave

PS: I think there is a photo tear down on the forum somewhere.

I'm guessing this is what you meant to say where you bought the kit?

http://biketomopedkit.com/