Black Widow Build.

Discussion in 'Photos & Bicycle Builds' started by alfredart, Jun 10, 2013.

1. alfredart

alfredart Member

Hey guys. I'm new here and to Motorized bikes as well. A year ago I got a wild hair and thought I'd build one. One year later and I'm still working on it. But... I'm almost there or I can at least see the light at the end of the tunnel. I've still got some parts to get and some tweaking to do but it's close. Here's what she looks like at the moment. I started with a JC Higgins frame (early 50's) and put this together one piece at a time. Being an artist I kinda got carried away with it and the funding for the project is from my art sales... one reason it's taken a year to get this far.

Allot of custom work... and making things fit. :rolleyes7:

bikechains.jpg bikeside.jpg Bikefront.jpg bikeback.jpg

BoltsMissing likes this.

2. wheelbender6

wheelbender6 Well-Known Member

You have a nice bagger there.

alfredart likes this.
  3. Sgt. Howard

Sgt. Howard Member

I see a lot of bikes called the "Black Widow", and most of them look... boring... but THAT one has me wanting to brush something off my shoulder! THAT one truly IS a "Black Widow"- Wish I had found an old JC Higgens to work with- had one as a child, it would have worked beautifully.
    You MIGHT want to consider a set of pre-WWI HD style "Straddle Tanks", where you have TWO tanks that mate over the top bar and strap under the lower bar- seperate valves, one goes empty you switch to the other... just a thought, seeings as you can weld.

alfredart likes this.
  4. LR Jerry

LR Jerry Well-Known Member

Most artist are never appreciated until after they're dead. Great build.

alfredart likes this.
  5. Sgt. Howard

Sgt. Howard Member

Here's what I mean- whatcha think?

Attached Files:

alfredart likes this.
  6. alfredart

alfredart Member

Thanks all for the comments.
    Sgt. I ended up going with this tank so I could sculpt it... Used a 1 gal tank.