broken down!

HERPER

Local time
2:08 PM
hey guys,

i guess this day was destiny with my happytime. but ive been riding for a few months now and my bike has ridden beautifully since day one. the other day tho, my bike started up but wouldnt get above a dull idle and sounded a bit funny.

i cant figure it out, it is responding to the throttle but only slightly and sounds as if it is bogged down or something. smokes alot, and the plug is soaking wet not sooty literally dripping.

how can i trouble shoot this one

Sounds like the engine is flooded.

Did you turn off the fuel valve the last time you used it?
Maybe the needle valve in the carb is stuck open with some debris.
Maybe the float is leaking.

im not sure, i took the carb apart (didnt clean it really) but nothing seemed the be astrew and i have a fuel filter anyways so doubt much went in

i hadnt ridden it in a few weeks, rode it to school which is about a 5 or 6 mile ride and it rode fine, went to class and when leaving started up, ran then began bogging.

and hasnt ridden right since.

bogging engine

Replace the inline fuel filter, and inside the petcock valve is another little screen filter, throw that away. You gave a clue by saying you havent used the bike for a few weeks, this tells me some dirt or something has dislodged and is clogging the screen or inline filter.It might be a good idea to put new gas in as well.Let us know if this helps. Mac

Last edited:
i never needed to choke it before so its never choked..

air filter is clean as well

the only thing that is different is its cold outside (30's-40's) and it sat for a few weeks

Make sure your filter element has not been soaked with fuel. The gas will evaporate leaving the oil, which will restrict air flow and foul your plug. The filter will appear clean but air will not flow through the oil soaked medium.

hey guys,

smokes alot, and the plug is soaking wet not sooty literally dripping.