California laws on motorized bikes

Discussion in 'Laws, Legislation & Emissions' started by Joker_precy, Aug 7, 2013.

1. Joker_precy

Joker_precy New Member

Hey guys, I was wondering since i just got a motorized bike, Can i just go out and ride it right away? or do i need special licences and will i get pulled over? sorry im new to this :)

2. MotorBicycleRacing

MotorBicycleRacing Well-Known Member

what area of CA do you ride in?
    Some areas enforce these laws and others don't.

There are lots of threads here about CA motorized bike laws..........

To be legal you need a M2 or M1 endorsement on your drivers license.

A $20 one time license plate from the DMV

DOT rated helmet.

Left side mirror, horn, lights

3. Joker_precy

Joker_precy New Member

Im in Orange County but ive read u dont need a licence as long as you dont go faster than 20 mph.

4. MotorBicycleRacing

Where did you read that?
    I have been pulled over by Huntington Beach cops and know
    many people who got tickets in OC and California.

What you quoted is only for ebikes which is 406 (b) CVC
    ebikes don't need any kind of drivers license, be over 16 and wear
    a bicycle helmet.

Gas powered motorized bikes are covered in 406 (a) need all of what
    I posted above and can go 30 mph.

OC cops in Newport Beach, Costa Mesa and Huntington Beach will
    ticket you.
    North OC doesn't seem to care or know the motorized bike laws but
    you are taking a risk of getting some hefty fines.

5. Westcoaster

Westcoaster New Member

I'm thinking there's the statewide DMV code regarding registration & M1/M2 licensing that we all know about, but, then local authorities can also have their own specific rules regarding MB that can vary. At worst, they might not allow them in certain jurisdictions or more likely just have guidelines that must be followed (traffic/road laws & safety requirements).

6. Big Red

Big Red Active Member