carborator bogs when throttle open

Michael B

Local time
8:04 PM
Hi I am Michael B

I am having carborator problems I believe as the bike idles fine, but loses power if I throttle down. I appreciate any help.:cry:

Hi there Michael. Welcome to MBc. Be sure that once your engine starts and begins to warm up, you take the throttle off (open). That should be right. If you speed it up, and are running a 2-Stroke: open the low end needle to give it a richer mixture. If it still stalls out aft, open the high end needle. I am not an expert on 2-strokes, so check our 2-stroke Forum...or hit our search engine for "Engine stalls on throttle down"...that should get you some results. Good Luck.

Welcome. What are you working on, knowing the type of engine/carburetor would help. Carburetors like the NT's have no external adjustment other then the idle.

Thanks Patrick W. Also, I live in the Chicago area.

I tried moving the pack man clip to a leaner mixture, but that did not help. Someone recomended for a similar problem, to use a higher gas to oil mix, but that did not work. Someone else recomeneded changing outthe spark plug with a differen type, but it seems odd to have to replace a spark plug on a new engine kit.

Lastly, someone recomended trying to find and plug air leaks. Again not sure why I need to look for air leaks on a new engine kit or how to do this?

Thanks Michael

Thanks Ron in Alabama. I am not sure what kind of a carb. I have, but I belive it is an N/T. I have a Skyhawk kit and the carb cover is red.

The bike idles well until I thhrottle down, then it loses power or stalls. In nuetral I can rev up the engine to some degree.

Michael

I am Michael B. from Chicago with a carb problem with my CNS carb.