Chain Replacement is LAME

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cody J

Local time
7:52 PM
I having a fun time replacing the chain for my bike. I ordered my kit from powerking motors which took a while but seems like a great company nonetheless.

The chain is a Chinese made chain obviously so a standard BMX chain is not going to work. I read an older thread on this forum saying the sprockets could be replaced so the BMX #41 chain could be used. Do I have to replace both sprockets? Also, Can I get a smaller tooth (36) sprocket that works for a BMX #41 chain? Any recommendations for sellers would help.

On that note, getting parts ordered seems to be alot of trouble. I checked out spookytooth but their parts inventory is lacking. A good parts resource would be most helpful.

BMX chain is not #41- what your probably saw is a thread that suggested either #41 or BMX chain to replace the standard Chinese 415 (which comes with the kits).

I have no experience with the BMX chain, so I cannot comment on that. I'm sure others will.

I use #41 chain which can be had for about $13 for 10 feet. It is stronger that the chain that comes with the kit and fits the sprockets perfectly.

415 chain has a pitch of 1/2"- that is the measurement from pin to pin. #41 has a pitch of 1/2" as well (so does bicycle chain). The #41 is wider between the side plates, but either the same width or only slightly wider overall as the side plated are thinner that the 415, but the chain is still stronger. #41 works perfectly with the standard sprockets.

I guess BMX chain is wider than standard bicycle chain which allows it to be used with these kits, but as i said, I have no experience with them.

I get mine at Tractor Supply Company. Other have gotten theirs at Lowes. Also, any small engine shopt should have it.

I do not have a tractor supply.
I do have a Wall Mart.
I have a kings kit the supplied chain and front sprocket are awful.