Crazy engineer in San Diego

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by QuadManiac, Aug 17, 2008.

1. QuadManiac

QuadManiac Member

Hello all,

As the title says, I'm an engineer (electrical/software with a strong physics background) with lot of additional engine/mechanical experience relative to quads and autos. I spend a lot of my spare time riding quads in the Southern California deserts.

I've been craving a motorized bicycle just about all my life so when I came across this forum, a few weeks ago, my eyes lit up and I've been reading like crazy! ... I have since purchased a Boygofast 80 (yeah I know it's a 60 something) with centrifugal clutch and pull start. I have also purchased (wiating for delivery) the Sick Bike Parts jackshaft kit to take advantage of my bike's gears.

I am installing this all on a 8-10 y/o Autobike that I bought for my ex-wife and she never rode. It's been sitting pretty much unused, except for the semi-yearly tune and ride that I've given it.

Anybody here know about the Autobike or perhaps even have a motor on one? It is unique in that instead of shift lever/s it has a set of weights, driven by centrifugal rotation of the rear wheel, which push the derailleur to change gears as a function of wheel rotational speed ... essentially it's a 6 speed automatic. It continues to shift perfectly, after all these years, so I'm hoping to have a unique motorized bike when I'm all done. It's not the best bike in the world, but it is rather beefy so I expect it will stand up well to the engine load.

Being a crazy engineer, I just CAN'T do anything normally.

Anyway, that's it for now. I expect I'll keep you posted on the progress and may have some questions as I progress. Thanks for being here!

Mark aka QuadManiac

2. srdavo

srdavo Active Member

welcome to MBc.

looks like you're going to fit in here, just fine.

3. s_beaudry

s_beaudry Member

Welcome aboard...