Cycling a bicycle with a 4 stroke fitted

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Derek o brien, Dec 28, 2016.

1. Just wondering how cyclable are thses bikes with engines fitted, was thinking of doing some cycle touring a bit of cycling, a bit of motoring , large touring bike with 700c/29inch wheels?

2. Growl

Growl New Member

The friction drive motors are the easiest to pedal, being that the motor & drive is 100% isolated from the drive train when disengaged.

I have no hands on experience with chain drive bicycle motors yet but am leaning to using a freewheel hub, because I want to be able to pedal unfettered.

3. FurryOnTheInside

FurryOnTheInside Well-Known Member

How much Q factor is acceptable? That's my first reason I am not planning a four stroke engine for my touring and towing bike. I will just have to do all the best 2 stroke sound reduction mods that I have read about here.

I'm going for a freewheel (8 speed +) drive too, but it will not remove the parasitic drain from the engine&jackshaft chains and the clutch assembly. (it could with a "southpaw" freewheel on the jackshaft, and pull/electric start)
    It will allow the bike to freewheel downhill before the clutch lever is pulled in, so that I will _hopefully_ be able to motor uphill and get the speed up as I crest the hill and launch into the downhills without any tricky clutch lever operation.
    It is possible to have the jackshaft chain removable without tools in a few seconds to make the pedal drive "totally unfettered" though this still involves stopping by the roadside.