Drive Chain Sprocket Won't Move?

Discussion in 'Frame Mounted Engines' started by acecreeper, May 9, 2007.

1. acecreeper

acecreeper Guest

hello, im very new to small engines and have no idea why my new bike will not budge? when the drive chain is hooked up the bike cannot move, what stupid lil thing am i missing? how do i get it to ride as a normal bike and in neutral? thank you!

2. Guest

Guest Guest

No neutral, just the clutch. Pull it in and poke the button on the lever to ride as a "regular" bike.

Hope that helped!
  3. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

4. acecreeper

acecreeper Guest

this is a pre start situation, its all assembled and everything, but the drive sprocket wont move, the drive chain will not move freely, the bike cannot move forward nor backword with the drive chain assembled. ??thank you!
  5. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

does it turn with the spark-plug out? if not, then i re-refer you to the above link about sprocket/chain jam. let us know how it goes.
  6. acecreeper

acecreeper Guest

i have read your links and i dont think thats the problem. but what do you mean, should i take the spark plug out and try it? how would this affect the drive sprocket movement? thanks i'll try.
    p.s im at a public comp so i cant try till later and write u back tomorrow
  7. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

what we're trying to do is get back to step one, let's start here:

how did you install the chain? you have to be able to rotate the drive-sprocket in order to do that. most people remove the plug so there's no engine compression to fight against.
  8. acecreeper

acecreeper Guest

I did just as u said but did not take the plug out, so yea there was compression. u do mean the plug that sits atop the engine right?
  9. gone_fishin

gone_fishin Guest

spark plug, yes. take it out for chain-install.