Ebay Add-on generator to magneto?

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by mogogear, Apr 13, 2015.

1. mogogear

mogogear Member

So I am not a generator expert but this fellow seems to have made a wire wrapped section of metal that tucks inside the magneto housing in small blank spot. Pretty straight ahead. He, I assume, has just added another coil for the spinning magnets to pass by and thereby develops about 3-6+V . Has anyone bought one of these and have any input? he also offers a 12v version and various switches and wires. The basic 6V version would be all that I am interested in.

You would need to add a switch, a head light ( incandescent as this is a AC generator - you could mod to DC if you choose) a tail light. Add a small battery and rectifier if you want a battery charging system too. Add a brake switch and mod the tail light to be a brake light also ... $24 + SH ( no- I am not the person making them.

Seems like a nice idea!! Am I missing something?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/400080371286?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

What says the group here?

2. jaguar

jaguar Well-Known Member

looks good but if you dont have a regulator it could burn out your lights at high rpm

3. mogogear

mogogear Member

Mr Jag,

It could indeed. The sellers take pains to explain that revving the engine at a stop can blow the bulbs. I like the simplicity of the option and because I know so little ( at this point in time) about converting AC to DC that I may be assuming that a easy conversion so you could also run more long lived LED bulbs is a small hurdle.

It just seems after reading some many threads and the cost associated with:

Bottle generators
    Head lights
    rectifiers
    regulators
    battery packs
    chargers
    lights switches
    etc

That this could be a dependable source of power. The "White Wire " just won't do it.