Electric bike enthusiast

Utah eBikes

Local time
12:54 PM
Hi folks! My name is Kevin. I'm a biology teacher from northern Utah who is in the process of becoming a seller of Veloteq electric bikes. It looks like there are forums for eBike enthusiasts, so I thought I might participate. I think the general reasons for driving an electric bike or a motored bike are very similar. I believe the laws are also quite similar in most cases, so we should have things to discuss.

Veloteq carries 3 models that look like bicycles (I call them pedal assist bikes), and 6 models that look and drive like scooters but meet the federal definition of an electric bicycle (motor size <750 W; 20 mph; functional pedals). I am already running into some questions from law enforcement since they look like motor scooters but do not require registration. . .

I'm just getting started as a business (my website is currently pathetic), but I'm having tons of fun riding an ebike around town and hope to find others that also enjoy electric bikes. I look forward to learning from you.

~Kevin

They had those scooter-style e-bikes here in Aus - the cops here are so thick that they banned them because they couldn't tell them apart from Motorised scooters (I think the lack of exhaust noise and no muffler would have given it away but no...)

Ostensably it was because the motor was primary rather than assistance. It sent one local retailer broke (ezyride). :p

But you guys in the US seem a lot more enlightened to alternative transport.

Hello Kevin and welcome aboard.

You gave a good intro, but it felt just a bit "commercial" to me. But I'm not an expert on the vendor rules here, so I could be wrong about that.

In any case, I'm a bit tempted toward an electric bike. One day I'm sure to give it a try.

See you around.

Commercial?