Electrical and carburetor problems

Dennis Cullifer

Local time
6:53 AM
So I've got a 80cc motor that I had running fine for the the first couple of days then the carburetor started flooding and I tried to manually fix it but it never worked so I got a new one and when I replaced my carburetor the bike still would not run so I ended up getting a new magneto coil,and sparkplug and I had the bike running again so I thought was in the clear but hours later the carburetor slid back and smoke came out of the area that the carburetor is mounted on for a second then the motor died and I slid the carburetor back on and try choking it but it would not start. Please help I am a noob at this.

Hi Dennis,
So many places it could be, where to start?
The engine running well is a good thing. When it stops there is likely only one cause.
You have to find that "root cause".
You are doing "diagnosis by replacement". Valid, but looking for symptoms and root cause is better.

First, what did you change? The carb flooded (gas overflowed?) and you unsuccessfully worked on it.
So you replaced the carb, unsuccessful, so we know that was not the cause of the no start.
New plug and magneto had it running! Only one of those things is the answer. Which one?

Well, the plug is the cheapest/easiest thing to change, so try another new one.
If it starts what have you learned?

Often when we have a problem we replace and adjust so many things we never know where "home" is.
A rule of thumb when problems arise is to return it too the basic "as designed" condition.
We know it runs like that, whereas we never know for sure the results of modifications.
Another rule is to supply what it needs: Fuel, air, compression, spark, timing, exhaust. Have all these?

Fuel? smell gas on the plug? Plug wet? (= too much) Does it pour out of the carb line?
Air? Filter blocked or soaked in dirt or oil? Air leaks (like carb slid off)? Air leaks=too much.