engine head gaskest is not sufficent

peppy

Local time
3:38 AM
please help gang, new grubiee 66 , and im geting air and oil leak from the head gasket, resulting in loss of compression and thus power.I have changed the head gasket to a new one , its better than the first but still not completly sealed.I i used a torque wrench and tightened the nuts to 10 lbs of foot tourqe as specified in my manual,and used loktite (blue) for added strength,this bike has less than an hour of running time, its my first build and it hasnt run properly since day one , is there a suitable gasket maker that will seal and last or am i s.o.l ? i would appreciate any helpful suggestions. thanks ahead of time.:confused::sick:

How do you know its a air leak?

Have you tested it properly?

With smoke or gas? for example a lit cigarette or propane gas.

All HT's ooze unused and spent/used oil from most gaskets. They are not engineered like Honda or Yamaha or Morini ect.

For that matter all the early designed Japanese and European small bore 2 strokes also oozed out oil everywhere.

Its actually the sign of a heathy engine.

Either get used to it or buy a quality four stroke.

Also, loctite will not add strength.

Last edited:
My head gasket leaked from the begining, too. I used Permatex Copper Spray-A-Gasket. Spray both sides and let it set for 15 minutes and install. Did you use any kind of torque pattern? I use a "Z" shaped pattern and tighten in stages starting at 2 1/2 lb and going up 2 1/2 lbs at a time. My instructions say 12 1/2 lbs. is your target. Get rid of the acorn nuts, you can't see if the stud has backed out and they can cause a lot of problems.