Engine Trouble Engine stalls instantly after a single pop noise

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by MarathonMan123, Apr 8, 2015.

1. MarathonMan123

MarathonMan123 New Member

I just built my second motorbike so I have some experience with them but not a lot. So I just got My bike working and I'm taking it for a test drive and it starts, but when I pull down the throttle it bogs but very slowly picks up rpms but then it'll Make a single pop sound and then stall out instantly after it. I am able to start it up again but it will run for 15 seconds and then it'll do the same thing again. I've tried adjusting the choke from half open to completely open to closed but It will still do the same thing. This isn't the first test drive. But it's never done this before (I brought over the engine and its components from my first bike). I don't know what is causing it. There isn't any air leaks that I can tell since the first few test drives I fixed the air leaks with new gaskets. Nothing is blocking the gas from flowing to carb . the carb was cleaned before I installed it I have the gas and oil ratio 1:16. I checked the magneto and its still on tight. All the wires are connected properly no shorts anywhere. Could it be a timing issue, gas issue, electrical issue? I really don't know. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I'll send pics if needed

2. Timbone

Timbone Active Member

I am no there but it sounds to me like...

you are not getting proper fuel flow. Perhaps it is starting with a full float bowl, runs lean and then runs fast just as it runs out of fuel and dies instantly. I would double, triple and quadruple check your fuel line, making sure there is no obstruction or vapor lock.

Good luck.

3. dougsr.874

dougsr.874 Active Member

Make sure the gas oil mix is correct...I didn't clean out my container once and ended up with to much oil in the mix...had me baffled till I realized what I had done.....

4. MarathonMan123