Engine Trouble First Bike/Motor - Low-power and runs rough

Servo

Local time
1:09 AM
I tried searching for my motor issue, but I didn't find what I was looking for. Honestly, it could be a lack of knowledge on my part.

Here is what happened. I'm breaking in my 80cc, 2-cycle motor with a centrifugal clutch. It's still in the break-in period and on the first take of gas. I keep the rides short and the speed low. I studied up on the break-in.

I was rolling down the street and it was running like usual. All of the sudden, I lost power and the engine started to run rough. By rough, I mean it ran normal and would vibrated hard, then back to normal, then vibrate hard. However, when I choke it, it runs smoothly.

The motor still spins the back tire when I engage the clutch and hold the bike up myself. However, if I try to accelerate while riding its barely able to move. I can pedal up and the motor can maintain speed.

Since the ride today that resulted in low-power, I only started it one more time. Thats how I figured out that it runs better choked. I only tinkered with the idle control to see if that helped, and it didn't.

Any ideas?

it's quite possible that you have developed an air leak where the carb mounts to the intake manifold.
get yourself some starting fluid and with the engine running spray a SMALL amount where the carb goes onto the intake manifold. if the engine revs up on it;s own, you have an air leak.
by running rough it could mean that the air-fuel ratio is beginning to get too lean (more air than gas) which would also result from an air leak.
this can also be known as bogging, and when a 2 stoke starts boggig, they run teriible and have very low power and they sound really funny.
something called 4 stroking can also occur when the air-fuel ratio is too rich, (too much fuel to air) so make sure that you have the choke turned off.