First Build and New Here

A Future Pilot

Local time
7:14 AM
Hello everyone!

My name's John, and I'm a college student who just recently lost his car (poor thing finally bit the dust after 222,000 miles).

I live only 6 miles from school, so looking around at other means of transportation I came across motorized bicycles. Needless to say, it was love at first sight!!

So I'm planning on building a motorized bike which will be my only means of transportation. After doing some research and stuff here's what I've decided on:

Bike: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Schwinn-Clairmont-26-Men-s-Cruiser-Bike/15711185

Motor: (The F80 version) http://thatsdax.com/KIT_INFRAME_2_STROKE.html

I know I've heard of replacing spark plugs and wires, the kill switch, and the hardware on "china" engines. Is this engine considered a china engine? What other upgrades or modifications will I need to make to the bike itself?

Thanks!!

Here is a good read for the newbie, go thru the whole post and you'll find great info to get started. Welcome to the forum.

Wallmart Schwinn... I usually just say no to anything Wally World but $165 steel frame may hold up well so long as that back wheel does.

Here are some tips:

I don't know about the front motor mount on a DAX but whatever it is DO NOT DRILL THE FRAME TO MOUNT IT WITH A BOLT!
Dumbest things ever.
If it won't fit get yourself a SickBikeParts front HD bracket mount for like $15.

When you get the bike flip it over and take both wheels off.
Then mix up some good Epoxy (not JB weld) and put some on every single fender bracket mount on the underside.
The vibration from the motor will break all those cheesy thin fender mounts in short order.

Your biggest challenge will be mounting the drive sprocket to the 7-speed wheel.
The hub is so small you won't be able to get a good 'eying it' to center the sprocket.