First ride, less than 2 miles, broken shaft

Discussion in 'General Questions' started by Jdude, Jul 17, 2008.

1. Jdude

Jdude New Member

Staton Inc Friction drive kit, eh035 motor.

Got it all put together, did my first run. The bar that connects the friction roller to the motor snapped in half at the point of the round metal thing (looks like a flat bell).
    So I had to pedal home.

I will be making contact with staton to get the part replaced tomorrow when they are open.

So that is where I am at now.
    No pictures, my camera is broken.
    -Jdude

2. stringer

stringer Banned

that stinks!!!

i hope you get it straightened out ASAP.

has this happened to any1 else? :confused:

3. Accender

Accender Member

Once your setup is fixed right, you will love the eho35, rock solid!

A

4. lennyharp

lennyharp Member

I would like to see a photo of this break when you can. that is a wierd break, I think.

5. loquin

loquin Active Member

Same here. I've been using mine for three years, with a more powerful motor, and no issues...

6. rwquiring

rwquiring New Member

Broken Shaft

jdude.

I to have the same problem, I had 120 miles and snap it just broke! :???: I have contacted Dave at Staton-inc. and he wanted to have me send a pic of it and he said that it must hve been over hardened and will send me a new shaft. I will attach a picture if it is any help.

Thanks
    Q

Attached Files:

7. kerf

kerf Guest

Most unusual, I have replaced rollers and have had to apply major torque to break the drum loose. Uses red Loctite.

8. Happy Valley

Happy Valley Active Member

Jdude

Any word from Staton, I'd be interested in what the followup is.

9. Jdude

Jdude New Member

I made a new thread about the follow up, but I'll post the info here.
    This thread has the most recent info about my bike.
    http://www.motoredbikes.com/showthread.php?t=13716