Brakes Frame difficulties with 26" tires and drum brakes.

suntzutao

Local time
8:58 AM
Hey everyone, I have an interesting problem that has almost put me over the edge a couple of times now. I bought a 2010 Schwinn Corvette to motorize, thought a new bike might give me a fewer problems. (Uh NO. Did not do enough research, my bad. Overconfidence can bite you quick!) Anyway I got around the loop frame for the engine mount by having a friend with a machine shop make a custom mount. Found the answer to my sprocket problem here in the archives. Now I need to bend the frame where the wheel mounts to fit the drum brake on 26" balloon tires without pinching the brake and seizing the wheel! I am a bit nervous about putting a precision bend in the back of this frame as this is my first build. I bought a turn buckle to bend the frame out and it worked very good in spreading it evenly. I think I need another bend to allow the frame to tighten to the wheel evenly. I will supply pictures shortly, I have to get a new phone. The kit I used was the Phantom kit from bicycle-engines.com and it has given me a major ache in the shorts with this bike. Any suggestions will be appreciated, including ones on the best kit for your money.

Thank you everyone, will be posting the pictures today hopefully.

If you like cruiser style, might I suggest a bicycle with 7-speeds and front/rear v-brakes?:unsure:

It's simple, easy but costs $. You could sell your new bike and parts, then buy a used 7-speed cruiser cheap on craigslist.

Just my opinion.

5-7 heaven,

Thank you for the suggestion, I have thought of the exact same thing a few times. I will admit that my stubbornness has come directly to the fore on this one. I really like the style of the bike and its looks seem reminiscent of a 1909 Harley or an old Indian. I have to apologize for no pictures yet. AT&T has decided to mail my phone back to me due to warranty obligations.