future So Cal MBer here...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by sabala, Jan 19, 2008.

1. sabala

sabala Guest

Hi all, I live in Santa Monica, Ca. I have no mechanical experience at all but I know I want a motor on my mountain bike!

Looking at GEBE or a friction drive, (Dimension Edge/Staton) to start my motorized experience. Can't wait!

2. azbill

azbill Active Member

welcome to MBc ! :D
  3. Dockspa1

Dockspa1 Guest

4. mickey

mickey Guest

Welcome aboard
  5. Alaskavan

Alaskavan Guest

Welcome to MBc.
  6. Egor

Egor Guest

I know what you are saying, about needing a motor on the bike. I got in trouble a few years ago, while touring in Utah. We were stopped at a rest stop in Zion national park, when a pare that were bicycling across America stopped with us. The young lady nearly fell down from exhaustion, as she stopped. I just had to make the comment "You know you don't have to do that any more, they did invent the internal combustion engine". Well you should have seen the look I got, it would kill. She never said a word to me, I wonder why! Have fun, Dave
    PS: I am in Long Beach, not far. There are a bunch of good places to ride in P.V. around Fort Macarthur, to the Light House.
  7. Abeagle

Abeagle Guest

Welcome to MBc. :cool:
  8. dbigkahunna

dbigkahunna Guest

Welcome from the Giant Side of Texas!
  9. sabala

sabala Guest

Awesome! Thanks everyone.

Egor, I used to pedal my bike from Santa Monica to Beverly Hills (9 miles) then run my butt off in valet parking for 8 or 9 hours straight with only one 15 minute break then pedal my bike back home and I probably looked like that lady you saw.

Had someone mentioned I could get a bike engine I would have started groveling at their feet. "Where? WHERE?? TELL ME PLEASE!!"

Better late than never I guess.

I also mentioned "motorized bicycle" at the bike shop for the first time the other day. The eyeballs of the dude almost fell out. WHAAAAA?????? With the whole eye roll and attitude to match.