Wheels HD Wheel questions

redcard

Local time
4:06 AM
If this has been posted before, I apologize. I read through the other HD axle threads and didn't see my questions answered so I'm hoping I didn't miss it somewhere...

So, in a week I'm planning on ordering one of the HD wheel kits. Since I'm new to bicycles, much less motorized bicycles, I really don't know whether I should order it with a 44, 48, or 56 tooth sprocket.

I'm 250 pounds, and live in Denver so it's mostly flat with some rolling hills. I'm not looking to go 45 mph on this thing. In fact, most of the areas I'd ride in have a 30 mph speed limit so I'm guessing I'll be riding about that speed at the max.

Basically, I'm looking for a utility / fun ride...not a how-fast-will-this-thing-go sort of ride.

Also, I see that the drum / band brake it comes with isn't that highly regarded here. Is that because you all have higher standards than me, or do they really "suck"? Again, I'm not going that fast, so I was planning on using my clamp brake up front with the drum brake on back...both hooked up to the pyramid dual pull brake lever. Is this sufficient for lower speeds / standard riding? Surely it's as good or better than the coaster brake it's replacing right?

I'm hoping that it will work for me, as I'm running out of money on this build so the idea of having to invest even more in rear brakes kind of makes me cringe, but I also want it to be a (relatively) safe ride.

Thanks in advance for the help. :)

Can't wait to get this bad boy running!

Personally, I haven't had a problem with 36 spoke wheels (and I'm over 300 pounds.) If you're mounting a sprocket with a rag-joint, wait 'till you hear back from HT owners, as to which would be best. (9 bolt holes would probably line up best on a 56 spoke hub...)