Hello all from Las Vegas.

D. Allen

Local time
2:43 PM
I stumbled across this interesting forum and decided to stay for a while. Please excuse me if i get too wordy. I'm a published writer (technical books and recently Sci-Fi) and get a bit carried away.

I have retired from my old business after many years and am thinking about beginning a new part time one. I have become involved with the quadracycle side of bicycling, as it is more appealing to the older set. I rode bicycles and motorcycles for many decades, but all of those things I did as an indestructible young man have come back to haunt me and I break and tire much more easily these days.

What I'm planning is to construct quadracycles specifically designed for seniors. (and probably accessible to many with disabilities) Some may be able to use pedal power and it will be available on all for legal road use reasons, but many seniors would prefer, if not require supplemental power. A senior quad will differ from the recumbants in that it will allow sitting and operating without the gymnastics required to get in and out of a low seat.

I already have found electric options that will work and am now looking at possible gas engines as well. The 49cc 4 cycles available look good and looking at the kits and installation, seem quite viable. My quads will use a chain drive pedal arrangement driving the left rear wheel through standard derailleur gearing, while the supplemental power will have the right rear wheel (actually a front wheel assembly as far as axle, etc.) used with the addition of a drive sprocket for the supplemental chain drive. Freewheeling of the wheel with the motor off seems to be a standard feature on all of the electric and gasoline conversion kits I've found.