Hello everyone! New bike, new engine, new hopes to be dashed!

Tasukeru

Local time
5:24 AM
Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to the advent of putting a motor on a bike. Though I suppose that's how they came up with early motorcycles... Anyway. I'm saying hello and hopefully I can get some help with my first build. My name's Mike, I live in San Diego and have been quite curious, intrigued one could say about motored bikes and read the forums here and elsewhere a good bit.

I recently went out and purchased myself a bike because my dad was adamant about not putting a crazy motor on our (his) bikes. The link to it is here http://www.rustyspokes.com and I'll get some pictures up too.

I also purchased a Honda GX35, after reading and talking to a few people regarding the Chinese two-stroke and four-stroke engines.

What I need to know, is, what kit would be good to install the engine? Do I need a kit, or can I just buy all the parts? I realize the suspension would loosen the chain which in turn could pop off and cause some horrific accident to occur, and that a chain tensioner would aid in nullifying that.

Waiting to get learnt,
-Mike

I'm new myself so I'll leave the technical stuff to others. First thing is take off the fenders! The front one could kill or hurt you very bad. Good luck with the build and WELCOME to the group!

Terry

Pictures!

Finally got some pictures up:

C360_2010-08-03%2018-25-30.jpg
C360_2010-08-03%2018-25-06.jpg
C360_2010-08-03%2018-24-09.jpg

Didn't know what exactly to take pictures of... Figured out that frame mounting isn't going to work because the GX35 is way to wide and I don't want to meddle with my peddles. So it looks like I'll be going rack with either belt or chain, leaning to chain. Probably going to build some sort of 4 legged rack off the swing arm to hold up the motor.

Any tips or info on the build or kits/parts? I can get some more detailed pictures too :geek:

If you want a belt drive system I recommend a GEBE kit.