Hello Everyone!

agentjosh77

Local time
8:18 AM
First off, hello and good day. My name is Joshua Gilbreath and have recently become enamored with the idea of riding to class on a motorized bike. I am a college student on a very limited budget, although having the opportunity to liberty myself from my truck to get back and forth from class would feel amazing.

I have a mountain bike that I ride back and forth from class right now.

I would like to begin the process of converting it into a motorized bike.

The bike looks pretty much like this :

http://www.germes-online.com/direct/dbimage/50227354/Mountain_Bike.jpg

The motorized bikes I have seen have been primarily cruisers. I understand this is because of the ease of mounting the engine in the opening in the frame.

The question that I have is what is the best way to mount an engine to the bike that I have? I have seen others create a bracket system behind and under the seat stabilized by supports rods running down to the rear hub.

These are the two engine kits I have been looking at:

http://www.gasbike.net/grubee-skyhawk-gt2b-48cc-black-finish-bicycle-engine-kit.html

http://www.gasbike.net/grubee-starf...covers-and-head-bicycle-motor-engine-kit.html

Well besides that I would love to hear everyone's input for a good course of action.

Thank you everyone for your help ahead of time. The motorized bike community looks to be a great place to be!

welcome aboard.

I'm sorry to say that I don't think you can mount those engines the way that you are thinking of. But there are engines available that are meant for rack mounting.

I'll bet someone will come along with recommendations for you. If not, then you could look in the "rack mount" forum.

Good luck.

Ok, great! Well that is a good place to start. The lurking will now commence... well until I come back with a good question. Haha.

Thanks for the direction.