Hello from Foggy Fresno

roughrider

Local time
3:13 PM
Hi All,

My name's Rick. I live in Fresno, California. I make my living carving wood, but I'm also one of those older guys who has returned to school. The idea is to get the credentials which will allow me to teach history in a college. Fresno, btw, is surrounded by farms, a lot of fruit, nuts (no California jokes please) and vines. Flat country. Hot in the summer and gloomy in the winter, but beautiful once you get to know the place.

I've been car free for a year now. My big, bad, lifted 4x4 Chevy 3/4 ton has been sitting in the driveway with a busted transmission because I'm tired of dumping money into it. I'm fixing to sell it, as-is, to get the cash for an engine kit for the motor bicycle I'm building.

Cruising around the neighborhood and scanning Craigslist just did not reveal the kinda old Schwinn cantilever frame type of bike I wanted for my first project, so I finally just bought a new one off Amazon for a $150.00. I wanted good old American steel, but oh well; the frame is pretty much the cheapest part of the bike. It should arrive today. When it does, I'll put it together and post a picture--the first, I hope, of many, as I share my building story. The plan is to strip it down, de-brand, repaint, and put together a board track racer style machine. I expect the only original component left will be the frame. (I got a bunch of new and extra bike parts.)

Not least, I discovered this forum through a search for motor bicycle touring stories, and it was bamabikeguy's tales that really hit me. I'm sorry to see that he has departed this world. I like those kinds of stories, and I look forward to some mutual sharing. You guys seem pretty cool.

But am I missing something? I haven't seen any women posting here, and I've read a lot of threads as I lurked, gathering information.

Cheers,
Rick