Help for a new guy

AzBigDoc

Local time
10:13 PM
Welcome to MBc.
I know of 2 xxxl riders.. Me and my brother! We will try to help.

Jim

Thank you Jim.
Like just about everybody else these days I want to do a budget build, $300-350 including a inexpensive cruiser platform. I'm not biased either way in terms of 2 vs 4 strokes and by what I've read all over this forum it can get pretty heated. I would like to hear from folks in the 300lb club who have first hand experience with all types of builds ie. friction or chain drive, rear or center mount, various motors manufacturers etc. as well as what to look out for.
Thanks in advance - Doc

Doc, I'm Jim's brother, so I'm the other XXXL rider he spoke of. I have three 2-stroke bikes and two 4-strokes. All are frame-mount, so I have no experience with rack mount or friction drive bikes. Wait, I forgot that I did briefly ride a friend's front-engined friction drive bike several years ago (a BumbleBike), but I really cannot remember much about riding it except that I didn't really care for the thumb lever throttle.
I have built two 2-stroke bikes using 48cc GruBee engines. Both of these are chain-drive and have the standard 50-tooth rear sprocket that came with the kits. I don't know if 50-tooth sprockets now come with them, as I got my kits in 2003 and 2005. They might now come with a different size, as I rarely hear anyone speak of 50-tooth sprockets anymore. With the torque the little 48cc engine has, the 50-tooth sprocket works well with my weight.