Help on first build? I have plans and ideas, but can they work?

Money Mike

Local time
7:41 AM
Hello everyone! Like I said in my first post I'm new to motored bikes as well as forums in general. So, my bad if I F somethin' up. But let me know.

My first build is going to be for my girlfriend and the second is going to be mine. We both lost our licenses and are moving to a state that allows us to ride these things so long as the engine is <50cc and "cannot exceed 30mph on a level surface". I feel I must get a 4-stroke engine, being as this will be our primary transportation and I don't want to deal with clogged injectors or trying to mix oil and gas at the pump etc...

One of my biggest problems of course is full suspension vs hard tail. It will be my only transportation so I know a hard tail would seem better. But, knowing us our primary routes will probably include trails through the woods and such. For that I REALLY want to get a full suspension. I'm aware of most of the downfalls of a full suspension and can conquer most of them. My question about this is the chain tensioner. Will the chain fall off if going over a hard bump? Assume I'm riding and jumping small dirt dunes (I probably will be, I'm an ex BMXer). Will the chain pop off? Is there a high quality chain tensioner that I could buy or modify to be a close to full proof at possible? I've read through the threads about this but I only find small mention of the chain popping off sometimes. If the chain pops off a lot on the full suspension no matter what I do, unfortunately I'll have to go for hard tail.

The bike. I'm going to get a mountain bike, probably from china mart, take it apart, put it back together (the right way) and on we go to the engine. I assume anything other than aluminum would work?