Hi. Just got a zoombicycle engine.

zelig

Local time
10:13 AM
Hi. I recently bought a 49cc limited edition engine from zoombicycles. (Although it says 68.5 cc on the engine). And today I just bought a diamondback edgewood for $150 on clearance. But it has 32 spoke rims and the sprocket doesn't fit perfectly. The tires are 28 inch by 1 5/8 inch. And the rims are thin. Maybe not a good bike to put this engine on. But I love the bike because it's tall. Anyway, I'm a welder by trade and this is my first attempt at a motored bike build. I test rode a 49 cc about a month ago and I was hooked. P.S. I'm from Rhode Island

Last edited:
I had to enlarge my sprocket some to get it on. Welcome, these are kits for people who like to tinker. Once size does not fit all :) I am sure being a welder, you will have some great ideas. Look forward to your results. Zip tie the spockes, and it will be good enought to get started. :)

Thanks for the advice. I talked to a bike shop guy today. I'm thinking of just buying a 36 spoke wheel. The one that came on the bike is quick release and I think I read that the torque of the engine might be too powerful for it. My other idea is to just buy a cheap beach cruiser at walmart for my first build.