Hole in my Cylinder??

Discussion in '2-Stroke Engines' started by seafood10, Jul 8, 2009.

1. seafood10

seafood10 New Member

Hey, put together my first 66cc kit and was breaking it in, about 2-3 hours on it and I noticed oil/gas leaking where the head and jug meet, but not apparently leaking from the head gasket as I can tell from both looking at it and ensuring the the head is torqued down, but i can look again to double check. It is almost as if there is a small hole in the jug, when it runs it occasionally makes a loud crack sound as if the muffler was not attached making me think that I am listening to the internal cumbustion via this hole? The bike runs ok at full speed but come to think of it, it has lost a little performance. I am still breaking it in with 16:1 so I am guessing that the is the reason for poor idling.
    I have been rebuilding Vespa and lambretta engines for over 20 years so I know my way around 2 strokes but have never seen this before, maybe it's a Chinese thing, I dunno. Any ideas?
    thanks
    Sean
    EDIT: apologize, don't know why the pics got all screwy like that.

Attached Files:

2. srdavo

srdavo Active Member

Hi,
    have you pulled the head & checked the head gasket?

with the head off.... you can also check for flaws in the castings.

good luck & keep us posted.

3. seafood10

seafood10 New Member

Nope, have not gone that far. I was worried that I would need a new head gasket if I remove the head and do not know where to begin to look for a head gasket, but i can always make one I guess.

4. srdavo

srdavo Active Member

normally, you can get by with reusing your head gasket.
    But my guess is it's already blown.

several of our site sponsors have gaskets & parts.

5. seafood10

seafood10 New Member