Home-made Bar-Mitts. Cheap and easy. And they work, too.

bluegoatwoods

Local time
11:47 AM
I've been working on these for a few years. The sets I made last year seem to be pretty good. Good enough that I'll use them again this year. And since they're pretty inexpensive and easy, I'll offer the how-to to anyone that wants it.

001.jpg

002.jpg

diagram.jpg

003.jpg

004.jpg

Be careful with the soldering iron. Particularly in tight places, such as where the handlebar will run through, it's easy to burn a hole that's larger than you want.

These are waterproof. Even in cold November rains your hands are warm and toasty. Plus your grips, shifters, cable ends, etc., are protected from the weather.

I haven't motorized much in the heart of winter. But on my regular old pedal bike my hands are just fine at only a few degrees F with gloves that are little thicker than brown jersey gloves.

I quite like that idea! Keeps the levers from getting air-cooled so does have advantages over ordinary mittens. :)
I usually end up just taping insulation over my levers, and I'll have to stick with that for now as I need to use the bar extensions to change position and relieve aches (I'm currently unmotored).

Google translate reveals that the above post says this:

Good all day. Who knows a reliable supplier of spare parts from Germany, the need for genuine spare Mears ts200 compressor, I think that's one to turn to another forum told to see here, but apparently that is mixed