Honda GX50 Push Trailer

Discussion in 'Push Trailers' started by Mr. Bill, Sep 3, 2009.

1. Mr. Bill

Mr. Bill New Member

I'm a newbie to MBs and have been browsing this forum for some time looking at various MB configurations trying to decide what set up to try for my first build. I think that I have settled on a push trailer but I have a few questions that I would like to ask.

1. I'm not looking to go faster than 30mph. Would the Honda GX50 be sufficient to cruise on the flats at that speed with a push trailer design?

2. If so, what size wheel should I use?

3. What front & rear sprocket sizes should I consider for your recommended wheel size?

Looking forward to your input, Bill

BTW, The various push trailer designs that I have seen on this forum look awesome! I just don't think that I'm up for some of these monster sized engines and speeds but maybe someday!

2. This is what sensationpdx said about his GX50 pusher trailer.

" Hey Doc,
    Nope ... not much bogging... I may even swap out a gear on the jackshaft and try to squeak out more top end. With the 10-1 ratio I am running now, I am at 27MPH and 30MPH if I peddle a bit. I wouldnt really want more than 35MPH... I think....LOL "

put "sensationpdx" in search & read his posts. He answers all your questions if I recall correctly.
    Remember his 10 to 1 ratio works with his particualar wheel size. He lists that info somewhere.

3. TREEWK

TREEWK Member

Hi, Here Is A Strong, Simple Trailer Connector System. It Could Be About 1/2 Of That Height. Could Be Hard Wood, Aluminum, Plastic, Teflon Block, Etc

Attached Files:

4. Mr. Bill

Mr. Bill New Member

It looks like from other posts that a 10" wheel size is popular. If I assume a cruising rpm of 5500, a 10" wheel, and a 10:1 ratio, the gear ratio calculator comes up with 16.4mph. It seems that an overall 6:1 ratio would bring me closer to my goal with that wheel size.