How Low Can You Go? Reverse-engineering for 30MPH

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by augidog, Feb 13, 2010.

1. augidog

augidog Banned

all politics aside, all speed aside...for the sake of the green door...if demonstrating "MB-efficiency" was your homework assignment...

shift kits, cvt's, anything goes...let's say we wanna move 300lbs @ 30mph on the level...developers insight most-welcome...just how small an engine could we use if we exploited every innovative idea we have going for us, and what kind of realistic efficiency numbers could we produce?

Last edited: Feb 13, 2010

2. safe

safe Active Member

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

There's a funny story attached to this one...

Back around that time (about 1989) I was working at a software company that made a MAC based CAD program and I was a guy doing tech support. So I get this phone call and this guy starts talking about what he's doing and I realize that it's Craig Vetter on the other end of the phone. Small world. I tell him my interest in his work and how honored I felt to be talking with him.

Anyway... sort of a "Forrest Gump" story I guess.

At my old favorite racetrack, Laguna Seca they ran a competition back in 1980 - 1985 for this sort of thing:

"The Freedom Machine would be any vehicle that gets 100 miles per gallon, at 70 miles per hour, carrying at least 4 bags of groceries."

http://www.craigvetter.com/pages/470MPG/Vetter Fuel Economy Contests.html

...there was another inventor that was also involved in the Gravity Bikes that built a lot of stuff and for some reason I can't remember who it was that also built a motorcycle that had even longer range.

Who was that?

Gravity Bikes

High Mileage Motorcycle

...and he had some sort of Balloon Tire Offroad bike that he sold too. He lives in Mammoth Mountain I think and he's more or less retired now and his kids are now running the business.