How to make engine start easier?

Ben_Tam64

Local time
5:44 PM
I'm having some problems getting my bike started.

I am running a china engine.

I installed a sbp gear set on it, but i found it was too much effort to start the bike by pedaling.

So I bought a pull starter, and was able to start it twice.

However, sometimes it gets almost impossible to pull. Some times when I pull it is easy, and other times it locks up.

What are some things I can do to my engine to make it start smoother and more consistantly?

I had the same problem when I left out the bottom cylinder gasket and use Indian Head gasket instead. My fix, was to put 2 head gaskets on it. Works great now! Still get 37mph out of it.
Shorty

Thanks for your response.

I am confused as to how the addition of a gasket can help the engine start easier.

I am also quite new to engines and would appreciate if you explained a little more about how it works

If you put 2 head gaskets on, the head is raised up and you have a little less compression.

it could also make conditions more favorable for head gasket leaks because you added one more seam to it. i dont think it is compression making it do that. you might want to check your pull start bt pulling it while its off the engine, see if its hard or easy to pull then you can narrow it down to the engine or the starter. check for any rubbing in the engine and if its really bad i just posted in a thread about motorkote. apparently it reduces friction and makes things run smoother, i reccomend readin that thread and trying some. http://motoredbikes.com/showthread.php?t=24523&highlight=motorkote