I would Like to Build a powerful quality vintage looking motor bike

doublesaran

Local time
12:40 AM
Hello, After alot of thought as to what I need and want out of a motor bike, I think I have a good idea of what I need and want, and what I don't. I really could use any advice as to my thoughts. I truly love the Felt 1903 model bike, and I know Ridley company builds them with 70cc motors, however priced at over 2500 dollars, they are out of my budget. I am a 200 lb 6 foot tall guy who wants to use this motor bike on a regular basis. I do have , at least for the time being some decent hills to contend with. I am a bit of a rebel and would like to put a 70cc or even 80 cc motor on this felt bike. First off, I am not a mechanic. I have basic knowledge, but I don't own the tools or have the experience to start moding things to any great extent. I would like to buy the best 60cc+ bike engine made and fit it to the felt 1903. Based on what I have said, should I build this beauty myself, or bite the big expensive bullet and buy one from ridley? I am so very grateful for this forum and I look forward to any and all suggestions.

thank you:confused:

Hi DS and welcome to the forum.

Thank you for listing your qualifications as well as your desires in your post. Based upon what you have told us my recommendation would be that you go with a rack mount setup for your first bike. If you have hills to contend with the Staton kit with the Nuvinci hub would be the way to go.

If you have limited mechanical experience and tools the Chinese 2 stroke engines are a poor choice. Also the Ridley bike (while attractive) has poor brakes and only 1 speed so it isn't a good choice for big hills. It will probably handle small hills just fine however.

It should also be mentioned that there are no true 80cc Chinese 2 stroke engines. The largest anyone makes is actually 69cc even though they are marketed as 80cc.

Last edited: