If this has peddals,would it be a bike

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by graucho, Aug 11, 2008.

1. graucho

graucho Active Member

This spring I said I was done doing mini's. Well im tring to do a combo MB/mini.
    Im thinking about welding a wide peddal crank set up on this stretch mini to
    turn it into a bike. Id have to remodify and add a jackshaft set up to add another rear sproket.
    I figured out a path for another chain to the rear.
    Its 7.5 ft long 8.5hp.and wont be confortable to ride since it is a crouch forward design.

My question is... if this has peddals, would it be a bike? If no, it wont break my heart.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 11, 2008

2. Mountainman

Mountainman Active Member

Hey graucho -- Cool looking bike !! Let's see - if it had peddals would it be a bike ? I am not an expert here - but if I may - give this a shot. Once you have installed the crankset, peddals, drive chains ect. - will you be able to peddal the bike for let's say a mile on the flat without using the engine ?? All that I know for sure is -- that's a NICE LOOKING CUSTOM BIKE !! Happy Riding from - Mountainman
  3. Just add some pedals to the front wheel, unicycle-style. Would that make it a moped? ...even if they are hard to reach, or you need to sit on the handlebars?
  4. Yup. The real test is how easy would it be to pedal without engine. Almost daily i ride to my fishing hole that happens to have a path that goes around it. I don't dare ride it with engine for there's too much park traffic. So I shut off my engine.
    I'm starting to make a regular thing out of this. Today I went around that lake three times pedaling then everyone watched as I pulled my rope and pulled away from the park.
    If you gear it for pedaling then you got yourself an epic win.
    I'm assuming that's a centrifugal clutch? Then it should pedal rather easy.
  5. JemmaUK

JemmaUK Guest