Is the 36 tooth sprocket really worth it?

Discussion in 'Performance Mods' started by S.PadreSurfer, Apr 9, 2009.

1. S.PadreSurfer

S.PadreSurfer Member

Hey everyone. i have the dax 50cc china engine with the stock 44t sprocket, and i was looking at their 36t for $29.99.

And i was wondering.... Is it really worth it?

Where i live there aren't any hills i would need to climb or anything, and i would like to be able to cruise a little faster without so many rpms and fuel consumption.

How many more mph's will i get?

2. MotorBicycleRacing

MotorBicycleRacing Well-Known Member

jpilot's Gear Ratio Calculator
    and you can figure it out for yourself

Use the gear teeth count of 20 and 82 for the 2 stroke which = 4.1 to 1
    that is for the internal gears under the clutch cover

At 6500 rpm on a 26" wheel you will get about 6 mph more
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2009
  3. S.PadreSurfer

S.PadreSurfer Member

sorry, as you can see, im new to this.... what exactly goes where in this calculator?
    please bear with me... lol
  4. In a word...yes. Your terrain and objectives are perfectly suited to a smaller sprocket. It also depends on what size you currently have. If you are going from a 48 down to a 36 you will notice a huge difference.
  5. MotorBicycleRacing

Did you click the Help Button at the bottom of the calculator?

6. Simon_A

Simon_A Member

In a word yes.

Just to have the extra speed on hand if needed and have the engine running less hard at cruising speeds.

But it depends on your area too. Where I live there isnt anything close to hills.
  7. gasbikekits

gasbikekits New Member

each tooth is about 1 mph... meaning if you swap a 44 tooth out for a 34 it will go about 10 mph faster! I'd say thats worth the 25 bucks, no?
  8. Simon_A

Simon_A Member

Thats true. I went from a 48 to a 36 and WOW what a difference. I then went from a 36 to a 34, and I can still notice the slight difference.
  9. Simon_A

Simon_A Member