led/diode turn signals research

Heathen

Local time
4:28 PM
Hi!
i have started to think of making a simple turnsignal system using some simple diode/led's but i'm not quite sure of how to get the turn signals to blink at the right frequency. i have very little electrical knowledge when it come to these things and i'm hoping there are someone here that can help.

i have a turn signal relay for a 6v system that is used on an other bike it's 6 volt with 10 watt light bulbs.

the diode/leds i'm gonna use is 6v 1W, so i figure i need a resistor of some sort. i have calculated(hopefully right) that i need a 4 ohm resistor (all i have found this far is a 3.7 ohm)

now the big question... do i need one resistor for each diode or can i use a 7.5-8 ohm resistor for two diodes(one for each side of the bike). if i'm able to use one resistor for two diodes couldn't i just use one resistor for the whole system and place it between the relay and the turn signal switch instead of between the turn signal switch and the diode?

hope this makes sense to someone!

Last edited:
Good Luck. I don't believe that turn signals are required (California) on a motor driven cycles with a top speed of 30 mph or under. I say motor driven cycles under 30 mph because the CA DMV cites federal regulations for motor driven cycles with top speed of 30 mph when it come to safety equipment on motorized bicycles.

turn signals are not required by law here in sweden either, but since i drive it all year round, i do a lot of snow/ice driving so i really don't like to have to let go of the handle bar with one hand to use my arm to signal my turns/lane changes.