led/diode turn signals research

Heathen

Local time
3:05 PM
Hi!
i have started to think of making a simple turnsignal system using some simple diode/led's but i'm not quite sure of how to get the turn signals to blink at the right frequency. i have very little electrical knowledge when it come to these things and i'm hoping there are someone here that can help.

i have a turn signal relay for a 6v system that is used on an other bike it's 6 volt with 10 watt light bulbs.

the diode/leds i'm gonna use is 6v 1W, so i figure i need a resistor of some sort. i have calculated that i need a 4 ohm resistor (all i have found this far is a 3.7 ohm)

now the big question... do i need one resistor for each diode or can i use a 7.5-8 ohm resistor for two diodes(one for each side of the bike). if i'm able to use one resistor for two diodes couldn't i just use one resistor for the whole system and place it between the relay and the turn signal switch instead of between the turn signal switch and the diode?

hope this makes sense to someone!

after doing some research and with some help from a friend i found all the info i needed.
This is how i'm gonna set my electrical system up. A friend of mine crunched the numbers for me and it should work just fine.
komplett_elschema.jpg

The headlight and rear light are for dynamo use, but should work fine of the engine. the headlight is a lymotec lyt sense plus and the rear light is a toplight flat s plus from Busch & Müller KG ( www.bumm.de) both led lights

have ordered all the parts and will post to let you guys know if it is a success or not :)

Last edited: