Legal Issues

S

scottca

I am set on getting a engine kit for my beach cruiser (a Del La Cruz) and have been running in circles as to whether it is legal or not and how to go about making it legal (if it can be done). I live in California and I have spent the last three days just getting confused and frustrated about the whole issue.

I have conflicting stories as to whether it would be a bicycle, a motorized bicyce, a motorcycle, or a vehicle.

I don't mind registering the thing, I am just having a hard time finding out how to even go about the process of getting it done. The only thing I have been able to find is this form:

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/reg/reg230.htm

For the most part the cops are pretty lax when it comes to mopeds and motorized bikes but it just takes one bum pumper cop to start stacking up the charges and depleating my pocketbook.

I am all for wearing a helmet (I work in a hospital and have seen what not wearing a helmet in MVA's can do to a person skull), putting on a headlight and taillight, getting a M-2 license, and all that kind of stuff...it is just the registration issues that I am having a hard time with.

Anyone with experience in the issue please let me know.

IIRC, a motorized bicycle that does not have all of the following is a moped(instead of just a bicycle) and should be registered as such:

1. Has an electric motor(if it doesnt, its considered a moepd)
2. Less than 1000 kw energy output
3. Maximum unassisted speed of less than 20 mph
4. Engine/motor should stop when you let go of the throttle

Laws

Ok guys I found a place that has all the laws for every state except MS.

For the laws with CA http://moped2.org/laws/california.htm

a) A "motorized bicycle" or "moped" is any two-wheeled or
three-wheeled device having fully operative pedals for propulsion by
human power, or having no pedals if powered solely by electrical
energy, and an automatic transmission and a motor which produces less